The Waifs – Beautiful You

Beloved Australian folk rock band The Waifs will be releasing Beautiful You on Compass Records/Jarrah Records. Produced by Nick DiDia (Bruce Springsteen, Pearl Jam, Powderfinger), the album was written between the USA and Australia by The Waifs’ songwriting trifecta of Donna Simpson, Vikki Thorn and Josh Cunningham. The resulting 12-song collection merges the three separate songwriters into a cohesive, roots-rock musical feast. Along with bassist Ben Franz and drummer David Ross Macdonald, the five-piece outfit created an album that echoes with both wisdom and pop appeal.

A trip that began in a van in 1992, with the three troubadours playing gigs anywhere in Australia that would have them, has led The Waifs to multiple ARIA awards, platinum albums in Australia and successful tours across the world, including opening for Bob Dylan in North America and Australia in 2003.

True to form, Beautiful You features their trademark sound: “a bit of blues and roots, a bit of country, a bit of jazz, anything really.”

“Intimate, heartfelt songs that move at the speed of a road trip.”ROLLINGSTONE.COM
“Perhaps the most popular and successful independent band in Australia.”THE WASHINGTON POST
“Blues, country, early rock and new-wave pop, and presenting it all with a cool sophistication that carries plenty of heat.”THE NASHVILLE SCENE

Label: Compass Records / Jarrah Records
UPC: 766397465326
Catalogue Number: COM46532
Release Date: 14 August 2015