The Gloaming win Choice Music Prize

Established in 2005 by journalist Jim Carroll and manager Dave Reid, the Choice Music Prize was setup to encourage, highlight, showcase and promote Irish music of excellence. The ethos behind the prize is to stimulate debate and interest in Irish artists and Irish Music and to increase public awareness of music from Ireland. Instead of using sales or airplay as criteria, the Meteor Choice Music Prize judges focus, simply and solely, on the music. Each year, a panel consisting of 13 media and Industry professionals, representing Irish print, radio TV, online and other assembled music professionals select the Meteor Choice Music Prize shortlist. This consists of 10 albums released by Irish acts for the very first time in any given calendar year.

This year the prize has been won by The Gloaming for their critically acclaimed eponymous album released in January last year. The group of extraordinary virtuoso musicians, each with a highly successful individual career, includes New York pianist Thomas Bartlett (aka Doveman), Chicago guitarist Dennis Cahill, fiddle master Martin Hayes, hard anger innovator Caoimhin Ó Raghallaigh and Irish singer Iarla Ó Lionaird – well known for his contribution to the legendary Afro Celt Sound System and arguably the finest singer of his generation.

“A real delight”The Irish Times (5*)
“Moves the music of Ireland in captivating new directions.”The New Yorker Magazine
“Enormously Rewarding”Q Magazine