Skepta Wins The 2016 Mercury Prize

Congratulations to Skepta who won the 2016 Mercury Prize for his album Konnichiwa at last nights award show. The first part of the show was hosted by Shaun Keaveny and featured live performances from each of the shortlisted ‘Albums of the Year’ including The 1975, Kano, Bat For Lashes, Jamie Woon, Laura Mvula, Michael Kiwanuka, Savages, The Comet Is Coming, Anonhi and Skepta. The second part of the show was hosted by Lauren Laverne and revealed the six finalists – David Bowie, The 1975, Laura Mvula, Radiohead, Skepta and Michael Kiwanuka.

The Hyundai Mercury Prize ‘Albums of the Year’ celebrate and promote the best of UK music, recognising artistic achievement across an eclectic range of contemporary music genres.