Scots Trad Music Awards – The Winners

The winners of the MG ALBA Scots Trad Music Awards 2015 were announced last Saturday at the Caird Hall Dundee. Broadcast live on BBC ALBA, BBC Radio Scotland and globally through the BBC ALBA website, the prestigious awards saw stars of the Scottish music scene celebrate and honour the very best of traditional talent.

Amongst the winners were Treacherous Orchestra who won Album of the Year for their second album Grind, beating out competition from the likes of Lau, Peatbog Faeries and many others. Ross Ainslie, founding band member of Treacherous Orchestra and a solo artist in his own right, also won the award for Composer of the Year.

The aim of the awards is to highlight Scotland’s wonderful traditional music in all its forms and to create a high profile opportunity which will bring the music and music industry into the spotlight of media and public attention. The annual awards take place every December and are held at different venues around the country each year.

Album of the Year (sponsored by Birnam CD)
Grind by Treacherous Orchestra

Club of the Year (sponsored by Traditional Arts and Culture Scotland)
Orkney Accordion and Fiddle Club

Composer of the Year (sponsored by PRS for Music)
Ross Ainslie

Community Project of the Year (sponsored by Gordon Duncan Memorial Trust)
Live Music Now Scotland

Event of the Year (sponsored by VisitScotland)
GRIT: Celtic Connections Opening Concert

Gaelic Singer of the Year (sponsored by Macmeanmna)
Griogair Labhruidh

Instrumentalist of the Year (sponsored by Royal Scottish Country Dance Society)
Mairi Campbell

Live Act of the Year (sponsored by Greentrax Recordings)

Citty Finlayson Scots Singer of the Year (sponsored by Traditional Music and Song Association)
Fiona Hunter

Scottish Dance Band of the Year (sponsored by National Association of Accordion and Fiddle Clubs)
Simon Howie

Scottish Folk Band of the Year (sponsored by Threads of Music)

Pipe Band of the Year (sponsored by The National Piping Centre)
Shotts and Dykehead Caledonia Pipe Band

Trad Music in the Media (sponsored by Skipinnish Port)

Music Tutor of the Year (sponsored by Creative Scotland’s Youth Music Initiative)
Jenn Butterworth

Up and Coming Artist of the Year (sponsored by the Royal Conservatoire of Scotland)
League of Highland Gentlemen

Venue of the Year Award
SEALL at Sabhal Mor Ostaig