Nominations announced for BBC Radio 2 Folk Awards 2015

The nominees for the 2015 BBC Radio 2 Folk Awards have just been announced and feature some of the biggest names in folk music. Now in it’s 16th year, the awards will take place on Wednesday 22 April at the Millennium Centre in Cardiff. Artists performing at the awards will include Yusuf/Cat Stevens, Grammy Award-winning Loudon Wainwright III, Welsh folk band 9Bach and English folk singer Kate Rusby with other acts still to be announced.

Along with the nominees which you can find below, it’s also been announced that Yusuf/Cat Stevens and Loudon Wainwright III will both receive lifetime achievement awards the legendary Ewan MacColl will be inducted in to the Radio 2 Folk Awards Hall of Fame.

This year, the best album award is open to the public vote, you can cast your vote on the BBC Radio 2 website here.

Folk Singer of the Year

  • Cara Dillon
  • Julie Fowlis
  • Nancy Kerr
  • Jez Lowe

Best Duo

  • Josienne Clarke & Ben Walker
  • O’Hooley & Tidow
  • Greg Russell & Ciaran Algar
  • Chris While & Julie Matthews

Best Group

  • Bellowhead
  • The Furrow Collective
  • The Gloaming
  • The Young ‘Uns

Best Album

  • Fair Warning – The Rails
  • Nothing Can Bring Back The Hour – Josienne Clarke & Ben Walker
  • Sweet Visitor – Nancy Kerr
  • The Moral Of The Elephant – Martin & Eliza Carthy
  • Tincian – 9Bach

Horizon Award

  • Ange Hardy
  • Maz O’Connor
  • Stick In The Wheel
  • The Rails

Musician of the Year

  • Martin Green
  • Will Pound
  • Sam Sweeney
  • Kathryn Tickell

Best Original Song

  • Swim To The Star – Peggy Seeger/Calum MacColl (performed by Peggy Seeger)
  • The Necklace Of Wrens – Michael Hartnett (performed by The Gloaming)
  • The Pitmen Poets – Jez Lowe
  • The Spider And The Wolf – Paul Simmonds (performed by Naomi Bedford)

Best Traditional Track

  • Bedlam – Stick In The Wheel
  • Handsome Molly – The Furrow Collective
  • Manus Mo Rùin – Cruinn
  • Samhradh Samhradh – The Gloaming

BBC Radio 2 Young Folk Award

  • Cup O’Joe
  • Roseanne Reid
  • Talisk
  • Wildwood Kin