Nick Cave and the Bad Seeds Skeleton Tree is Residents Album of the Year

Resident in Brighton recently announced their Albums of the 2016 rundown and we’re pleased to say that Nick Cave and the Bad Seeds latest album Skeleton Tree is their Album of the Year.

Other Proper distributed releases featured in the list include Jaimeo Brown Transcendence – Work Songs, Unloved – Guilty of Love, Splashgirl – Hibernation, Badbadnotgood – IV, Nicolas Jaar – Sirens, Pet Shop Boys – Super, C Duncan – The Midnight Sun, Lucinda Williams – The Ghosts of Highway 20, Flamingods – Majesty, DJ Shadow – The Mountain Will Fall and more.

Here’s what Resident had to say in their newsletter announcing the Albums of 2016. You can find more details and the full list below in the Resident Annual 2016.

“in a year of tragic deaths which have robbed us of so many of our musical greats, it actually feels good to be celebrating the work of some of the music business’ most established acts – to be acknowledging that their latest oeuvres are new classics, to be newly blown away by artists who have shaped our soundworlds for so long. to see these old timers sitting so comfortably alongside the up and coming new talent is what makes this job so exciting. it’s what makes running a shop like this such a joy – a complete open minded willingness from the residents and our customers alike to embrace the old, the new and everything in between with such fervour – such thirst for the next fix – such a desire to find our new favourite thing.”