Jazz FM Awards 2016 Nominees Announced

Congratulations to all of the nominees for the Jazz FM Awards 2016, the most prestigious ceremony in the jazz, soul and blues calendar, which takes place on 26th April at London’s Bloomsbury Ballroom.

The full list of nominees can be found below and include Proper distributed artists ESKA and Liane Carroll in the Vocalist of the Year category, Mark Lockheart and Theon Cross in the Instrumentalist of the Year category, Charenee Wade gets a nomination for Album of the Year for ‘Offering’ and Sons of Kemet are nominated in UK Jazz Act of the Year.

Speaking about the announcement, Jonathan Arendt, CEO, Jazz FM said “We are delighted to announce this year’s Jazz FM Awards nominees celebrating the extraordinary work from established international Grammy-winning superstars to up and coming homegrown talent, this is sure to be our biggest and best year yet”

Once again the public will be able to vote for the winner of three categories Album of the year, UK Jazz Act of the Year and Live Experience of the Year. Voting is open until the 31st March via the Awards website. This year also sees the addition of a new award, the Digital Initiative Award, that has been created to recognise a musician who has harnessed the power of technology to engage with audiences.

Breakthrough Act of the Year

  • Binker & Moses
  • Jacob Collier
  • Nerija

International Jazz Artist of the Year
(Sponsored by Yamaha)

  • Kamasi Washington
  • Marcus Miller
  • Maria Schneider

Blues Artist of the Year

  • Alabama Shakes
  • Buddy Guy
  • Gary Clark Jnr

Soul Artist of the Year

  • Jill Scott
  • Leon Bridges
  • Lizz Wright

Instrumentalist of the Year
(Sponsored by Arqiva)

  • Mark Lockheart
  • Theon Cross
  • Zoe Rahman

Vocalist of the Year

  • Eska
  • Lauren Kinsella
  • Liane Carroll

Jazz Innovation of the Year
(Sponsored by Mishcon de Reya)

  • Black Top
  • Christian Scott Atunde Adjuah
  • David Virelles

Digital Initiative of the Year
(Sponsored by 7digital)

  • Chassol
  • Jacob Collier
  • Tin Men and the Telephone

Album of the Year [Public Vote]

  • Christian Scott ‘Stretch Music’
  • Hiatus Kiayote ‘Choose Your Weapon’
  • Kamasi Washington ‘The Epic’
  • Maria Schneider ‘The Thompson Fields’
  • Charenee Wade ‘Offering’
  • Snarky Puppy ‘Sylva’

UK Jazz Act of the Year [Public Vote]
(Sponsored by Grange Hotels)

  • Binker & Moses
  • Matthew Halsall
  • Sons of Kemet

Live Experience of the Year [Public Vote]

  • Ice-T and Ron McCurdy – The Langston Hughes Project at the Barbican
  • Maria Schneider at Symphony Hall Birmingham
  • Taylor McFerrin at Rio Club Glasgow