James on BBC Radio 2 playlist

Manchesters finest make a welcome return with ‘La Petite Mort’ (out 2nd June), the first new James album in seven years. Produced by Max Dingel (Killers, Muse, White Lies) and written as ever, by the band, with Tim Booth lyrics, this new disc ranks among the finest in their 30 year career.

Highlights include the mighty first single ‘Moving On’ which is currently on rotation on BBC Radio 2, the anthemic ‘Curse Curse’ and ‘Frozen Britain’.

‘La Petite Mort’ was recorded in the wake of Tim Booth losing his mother and best friend in quick succession and understandably many of the songs deal with mortality, hence the album title. However, La Petite Mort, is an incredibly uplifting record.

James’ reformation in 2007 was widely considered as a second coming with the band creatively recharged. While they have since regularly toured together, La Petite Mort is the first studio album to be recorded by the original line up since the seminal album Laid, produced by Brian Eno.

Label: Cooking Vinyl
UPC: 0711297510423
Catalogue Number: COOKCD604
Release Date: 2 June 2014