IMPALA announces nominees for European Independent Album of the Year Award

IMPALA has recently revealed there shortlist of nominees for the fifth edition of the IMPALA European Independent Album of the Year Award.

The award showcases the musical talent and diversity of releases by European independent labels. Voting is currently taking place on the 23-album shortlist to decide who will succeed Spanish band Guadalupe Plata. The best album will be selected by a jury of IMPALA Board members, with the winner to be announced in mid-February.

Included amongst the nominations are albums by two Proper distributed labels, Soundway Records with Batida’s Dois and Propeller Recordings with Highasakite’s Silent Treatment.

The full list of nominated albums are below:
1. ALT-J – This Is All Yours (Infectious Music)
2. APHEX TWIN – Syro (Warp)
3. BATIDA – Dois (Soundway Records)
4. BROKEN TWIN – May (ANTI/Epitaph)
5. CARIBOU – Our Love (City Slang)
6. DANS DANS – 3 (Unday Records)
7. THE DØ – Shake Shook Shaken (Wagram Music)
8. EMIS KILLA – Mercurio (Carosello Records)
9. FAI BABA – Savage Dreamer (A Tree In A Field Records/Irascible)
10. FKA TWIGS – LP1 (Young Turks)
11. FRANKIE CHAVEZ – Heart And Spine (Search Records)
12. HIGHASAKITE – Silent Treatment (Propeller Recordings)
13. ICEAGE – Plowing Into The Field of Love (Escho)
14. JENNIE ABRAHAMSON – Gemini Gemini (How Sweet The Sound)
15. NINA ROMIC – Stablo (Aquarius Records)
16. THE NOTWIST – Close To The Glass (City Slang)
17. OCHO MACHO – De Puta Madre (CLS)
18. PEPE WILLBERG – Pepe & Saimaa (KHY Suomen Musiikki)
19. SLEAFORD MODS – Divide And Exit (Harbinger Sound)
20. TREMENDA TREMENTINA – Sangre Pop (Everlasting Records)
21. TWIN ATLANTIC – Great Divide (Red Bull Records)
23. YOUNG FATHERS – Dead (Big Dada/Anticon)