Folk Awards 2016 Lifetime Achievement and Good Tradition Award Recipients Announced

The recipients of the Lifetime Achievement and Good Tradition awards at this years BBC Radio 2 Folk Awards were announced last night on the The Folk Show with Mark Radcliffe. Both Norma Waterson and Joan Armatrading will be presented with Lifetime Achievement Awards whilst John McCusker will receive the Good Tradition Award.

It was also revealed that as well as Unthanks, Sam Lee and Joan Armatrading, other performances on the night will come from Lynched, Kathryn Roberts & Sean Lakeman, the John McCusker Band with Mark Knopfler and Norma Waterson.

Speaking about the announcements last night John McCusker tweeted “Delighted & very proud to be receiving The Good Tradition Award at BBC Radio 2 Folk Awards at The Royal Albert Hall” adding “Really looking forward to performing at the @BBCRadio2 Folk Awards with a magic big gang – The John McCusker Band & also with Mark Knopfler”

You can find the full list of nominations here.