AIM Independent Music Awards 2016 Announced

AIM, the association of independent music, have announced the date for the 2016 AIM Awards which will take place on 6th September at The Brewery in London, and are set to be hosted by Radio X’s John Kennedy and BBC Radio 1 & 1Xtra’s MistaJam.

Speaking about the Awards, John Kennedy said: “I am delighted to be hosting/presenting (whatever word you’d like to use) the AIM Awards again this year and honoured to be doing it alongside the amazing MistaJam.”

Now in its 6th year, the AIM Awards have honoured a fantastic array of independent artists, labels and industry figures in previous years including Björk, Adele, Skepta, Edwyn Collins, The Prodigy, London Grammar, 4AD, Hyperdub, Transgressive, Alcopop! Recordings, FKA twigs, Billy Bragg, Alt-J, Flying Lotus, Geoff Travis (Rough Trade), Martin Mills (Beggars Group), Daniel Miller (Mute) and Laurence Bell (Domino).

Highlights from the 2015 AIM Awards:

AIM Awards organiser Lara Baker highlights the influence and success of the independent sector over the past 12 months: “As ever the independent sector has had a phenomenal year, with such a broad range of incredible music released. Whether it’s the international success of grime or the enduring popularity of metal, British indies continue to be an unrivaled hotbed of new talent and home to some of the world’s most popular artists. The AIM Awards is where you will see the true breadth and creativity of British music celebrated.”

More details about the awards and how to book tickets can be found on the AIM website.