AIM Awards 2015: The Winners

Last night (September 8) The Brewery in London played host to the annual AIM Awards ceremony with FKA Twigs, Young Fathers and Skepta among the winners. The ceremony, which is now in its fifth year, was hosted by XFM’s John Kennedy and Radio 1’s Alice Levine.

While Transgressive records picked up the award for Independent Label of the Year, Noel Gallagher made an appearance as star guest to present Jungle with the PPL Award for Most Played New Independent Act.

Independent Track of the Year went to FKA Twigs who went on to stress the important role independent labels and artists play in the music industry, saying: “We’re artists that genuinely do everything ourselves. We don’t take other people’s songs and just sing them, we’re not just singers, we’re not just somebody that plays a guitar riff that’s already been written for them, we’re the people that create it. And that’s why things like these awards are so important. It just highlights that, it shines a light on people that are genuinely doing themselves.”

Elsewhere, Scottish Mercury-winners Young Fathers bagged the Best Difficult Second Album award for ‘White Men Are Black Men Too’, while MC and grime-pioneer Skepta, who was unable to attend, won the Outstanding Contribution To Music award.

Recognised for his legendary role within promoting and supporting extreme metal and contemporary blues rock, Digby Pearson of Earache Records was awarded the Pioneer Award.

See below for the full list of winners:
Best Small Label (in association with Disc Manufacturing Services): Erased Tape Records
Best Difficult Second Album (in association with XFM): Young Fathers – White Men Are Black Men Too
Special Catalogue Release of the Year (in association with Amazon Music): Cities of Darkscorch Boardgame
Hardest Working Band or Artist: Swans
Golden Welly Award for Best Independent Festival (in association with AIF, voted for by readers of DIY): Brainchild Festival
Independent Breakthrough of the Year: Wolf Alice
Indie Champion (in association with CI): Marc Riley, BBC 6 Music
Independent Video of the Year (in association with Vevo): Flying Lotus – Never Catch Me
Best Live Act (in association with Jack Daniel’s, voted for by visitors to Songkick): All Time Low
Independent Track of the Year (in association with Spotify): FKA Twigs – Two Weeks
PPL Award for Most Played New Independent Act: Jungle
Independent Album of the Year (in association with dotFans): Enter Shikari – The Mindsweep
Independent Label of the Year (in association with Believe Digital): Transgressive Records
Pioneer Award (in association with The Orchard): Digby Pearson, Earache Records
Innovator Award (in association with Promostream): Peter Quicke, Matt Black and Jonathan More of Ninja Tune
Outstanding Contribution to Music (in association with Merlin): Skepta